The Reader, The Bridges…Sophie’s Choice

The Reader

I read The Reader by Bernhard Schlink back in 2000 or so. I watched the movie on DVD a few weeks ago. I thoroughly enjoyed both.  Of course, books are, for the most part, better than film adaptations, but sometimes, although rarely, movies are better. No, truly.

Take for instance, The Bridges of Madison County. Loathed the book, yet loved the film. Go figure!

The Bridges of Madison County

I read a great deal ( goodreads.com) and I am an avid movie-goer. Most of the time, I like to read the book before I see the movie, but I’ve also been pleasantly surprised to see some films before I even knew a book existed. Example;  Sophie’s Choice by William Styron. Saw the film, bought the book!

Sophie's Choice

If you haven’t seen the film, or read the book, I recommend it. However, it’s not an easy novel to read or an easy movie to watch. Although the trailer is dated (1982), it’s still a classic with Meryl Streep as Sophie. Rent it.

Oh, and have a box of tissues at the ready. You’ve been warned!

This is the word for this evening, folks!

About mohawkgrl

I specifically write about books that have been made into movies, but I may also blog about something else entirely. Stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Books to Films and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

